top of page



Each year, APA Orange Section recognizes and celebrates outstanding planning work throughout Orange County. The Planning Awards honors innovative plans and projects, distinguished individuals, and other contributions to the planning profession.

This year’s celebration was held at the Historic Ebell Clubhouse in Downtown Santa Ana. The awards program celebrated the outstanding work, organizations, and leaders that have contributed to creating great communities and strengthening the planning profession.

Ebell Clubhouse

The Historic Ebell of Santa Ana was designed in 1924 by one of Orange County’s best known architects. Built originally to support and house women’s education and philanthropic work, the beautiful Spanish revival has multiple spaces available for your special event. Surrounded by hundred year old oak trees, the venue boasts the original features that are truly unique and special. These features include arched doorways, colorful Spanish tiles, high wood beam ceilings, beautifully maintained iron chandeliers, and mercury glass detailed wooden doors. 


Source: Ebell Society


Special thanks to our esteemed jury panel for reviewing all nominations & lending their expertise.

Jay Bullock, Rancho Mission Viejo

Cecilia Kim, Harris & Associates

Agnieszka Napiatek, ICF International

Kedarious Colbert, Providence 


Advancing Diversity & Social Change

Award of Excellence:

JEDI Project

Environmental Science Associates


Best Practices

Award of Excellence:

Paseo Adelanto Mixed-Use Project

City of San Juan Capistrano


Transportation Planning

Award of Merit:

SR 91 Comprehensive Multimodal Plan

Orange County Transportation Authority


Urban Design

Award of Excellence:

Downtown Brea Parklets

City of Brea

Economic Planning & Development Award of Excellence:

Westminster Mall Specific Plan

City of Westminster

Grassroots Initiative

Award of Excellence:

Willard Safe Streets

Santa Ana Active Streets



Award of Excellence:

Niguel Hills Middle School Safety Program

City of Laguna Niguel


Innovation in Green

Award of Excellence:

Legacy Square

City of Santa Ana

bottom of page