top of page

 2019 Awards 

OC-APA Awards Night

Thursday, May 30, 2019


Woman's Club of Orange

121 S Center St Orange, CA 92866

Awards Jurors:

Melissa Dugan
Maryann Marks
Agnieszka Napiatek

Click below for a copy of the Awards Presentation


2019 Award Winners.


Merit: Nathan Devan Lacy – UC Irvine Department of Urban Planning and Public Policy
Master of Urban and Regional Planning
Stormwater Design as a Guiding Principle: an exploration of stormwater infrastructure performance in Orange County, CA

Best Practices

Excellence: City of Orange Community Development Department – Orange Eichler Design Standards


Merit: Lake Forest Economic Development – South Orange County Entrepreneurs Academy

Communications Initiative

Excellence: City of Laguna Beach, BGB Design Group, Selva Partners & Ann Christoph, FASLA – City of Laguna Beach Landscape and Scenic Highways Element & Resource Document

Merit: Orange County Planning Collaborative & Visualizing the Code – Model Water Efficient Landscape Ordinance Video Series

Comprehensive Plan

Economic Planning and Development

Merit: City of Tustin Community Development Department & Environment | Planning | Development Solutions, Inc. – City of Tustin Downtown Commercial Core Specific Plan

Merit: City of Anaheim – City of Anaheim Economic Development Team

Grassroots Initiative


Excellence: Project Bike Love, Sagecrest Planning+Environmental, Officer Shane Spielman of the Anaheim Police Department, Grandma’s House of Hope, and Rock N Road Cyclery – Project Bike Love Local Delivery



Excellence: National Community Renaissance, City of Yorba Linda and County of Orange – Oakcrest Heights

Merit: City of Orange Community Development Department – City of Orange 2010 General Plan Urban Mixed-Use Districts

Opportunity and Empowerment

Planning Agency

Merit: Planning Division – City of Newport Beach

Transportation Planning

Excellence: City of Garden Grove, Garden Grove Unified School District, and KOA Corporation – Garden Grove Safe Routes to School: Phase 1 Master Plan


Merit: Cory Wilkerson, City of Santa Ana and Joe Punsalan, KTUA – Central Santa Ana Complete Streets Plan

Urban Design

Merit: City of Mission Viejo, SWA and Kearns & West –Mission Viejo Civic Core Vision Plan

Emerging Leader

Nicholas Chen, AICP – Kimley-Horn and Associates

bottom of page